DUP ratifies candidates for General Election

02 May 2017

The Democratic Unionist Party has ratified the following candidates for the General Election on 8th June.

Arlene Foster MLA

Leader of the Democratic Unionist Party

Arlene Foster

North Belfast - Nigel Dodds
East Belfast - Gavin Robinson
East Antrim - Sammy Wilson
North Antrim - Ian Paisley
East Londonderry - Gregory Campbell
Lagan Valley - Jeffrey Donaldson
Upper Bann - David Simpson
Strangford - Jim Shannon
South Antrim - Paul Girvan MLA
West Belfast - Ald Frank McCoubrey
Foyle - Gary Middleton MLA

The party has stood aside in Fermanagh and South Tyrone.

Further candidates will be ratified in the coming days

Commenting on the announcement of candidates Party Leader Arlene Foster said, "This election will be an opportunity for people across Northern Ireland to elect DUP candidates who will work for Northern Ireland. Voters will be able to show their support for the Union and elect our candidates who will stand up for Northern Ireland's interests in Westminster.

DUP members have a track record of working and speaking up for Northern Ireland. As a party we will be working to get the best deal for Northern Ireland as the United Kingdom leaves the EU.

During the course of the campaign I will be taking the opportunity to outline the benefits of our United Kingdom.  We support getting the Assembly and the Executive back functioning and local Ministers working on health, education and the issues that matter to people's lives here.

This election can provide the basis for strengthening the Union and ensuring Northern Ireland sends people to Westminster who will deliver for them."

Close Learn More